Most of the ideas behind the M-Base Conception involve using music to express life. Although this sounds vague, the only way to really understand music is to listen to it. Some aspects of music cannot be adequately described using words. In spite of this, we will continually use this web page primarily to distribute information on things related to and coming out of the M-Base Conception.

The M-Base Collective began around 1984. Here is a list of people who have been involved in this movement by participating in the music and or influenced the spirit of the music:










Steve Coleman - alto
Greg Osby - soprano/alto
Gary Thomas - tenor
Ravi Coltrane - tenor/soprano
Jimmy Cozier - baritone
Malik Mezzadri
Branford Marsalis - soprano/tenor
Yosvany Terry - soprano/alto/tenor
D'Armous Boone - tenor
Craig Handy - tenor
Lance Bryant - tenor
David Murray - tenor
Von Freeman - tenor
Bunky Green  - alto
Steve Williamson - tenor
Greg Tardy - tenor

Graham Haynes - trumpet and cornet
Robin Eubanks
Ralph Alessi - trumpet
Jonathan Finlayson - trumpet
Ambrose Campbell-Akinmusire - trumpet
Geoffroy DeMasure - trombone
Josh Roseman - trombone
Roy Hargrove - trumpet
Shane Endsley - trumpet
George Lewis - trombone
Nbate Isles - trumpet
Tim Albright - trombone

Jean-Paul Bourelly
Rory Stuart
Kelvyn Bell
David Gilmore
Kevin McNeal
Takahiko Suzuki guitar and computer programming

Geri Allen
James Weidman
Andy Milne
Vijay Iyer
Jason Moran
Robert Mitchell
Edward Simon
Muhal Richard Abrams

Kim Clark - electric bass

Kevin Bruce Harris - electric bass

Reggie Washington - electric bass

Anthony Tidd - electric bass

Meshell N’degecello - electric bass

David Dyson - electric bass

Matthew Garrison - electric bass

Lonnie Plaxico - acoustic and electric bass

Dave Holland - acoustic bass

Kenny Davis - acoustic bass

Bob Hurst - acoustic bass

Dafnis Prieto
Sean Rickman - drums & percussion
Oliver Gene Lake - drums & percussion
Ramon Garcia Perez (Sandy) - percussion
Anga (Miguel Diaz) - percussion
Marvin "Smitty" Smith - drums & percussion
Mark Johnson - drums
Josh Jones - percussion
Larry Banks - drums
Terry Lynn Carrington - drums
Chander Sarjoe - drums
Mark Prince - drums
Roberto Vizcaino - percussion
Marcus Gilmore - drums
Camille Gainer - drums
Marivaldo Dos Santos  - percussion
Jesus Diaz - percussion
Michael Wimberly - percussion
Jalal Sharriff - percussion
Kwe Yao Agyapan - percussion
Ronnie Roc - percussion
Dave Frazier - percussion
Ramesh Shotham indian - percussion
AfroCuba De Matanzas - percussion, vocals & dance
Tani Tabbal - drums
Junior "Gabu" Wedderburn - percussion
Nei Sacramento - percussion
Luciano Silva - percussion
Felipe Alexandro - percussion

Cassandra Wilson - vocalist

Jen Shyu - vocalist

  1. D.K. Dyson - vocalist

Najma Akhtar - vocalist

Yassir Chadly - vocalist

Black Indian - lyricist and rapper

Kokayi - lyricist and rapper

Timbuk (a.k.a Sub Zero) - lyricist and rapper

Utasi - lyricist and rapper

Shahliek - lyricist and rapper

Malik - lyricist and rapper

Black Thought - lyricist and rapper

Andrea the Great - lyricist and rapper

Dave Mills - poet

Patrícia Magalhães - poet

Air Smooth - lyricist and rapper

Rosangela Silvestre - dancer
Laila Jenkins dancer
Vera Passos Santana - dancer
Don Byron - clarinet
Derrick Davis - flute
Ezra Greer - sampler and bassist
Miya Masaoka - japanese koto
Maia Claire Garrison - dancer
Lacine Wedderburn - dancer
Maria Mitchell - dancer
Tom Goodwin - philosophy & astrology

Sophia Wong (Sooya Arts) - management
Joseph Marciano(Systems Two)- recording engineer
Nancy Marciano (Systems Two) - music production assistant
Eve-Marie Breglia - documentation
Dimitri Louis- road manager & archivist
AJ Fielder - creative consultant
Patricia Magalhaes - road manager & archivist